Time for you to clean your workspace

Seriously, it’s so full of crap you don’t even use

Tim King
2 min readMar 6, 2024
ok ok, yeah I know I should have better cable management, but you try having a mic with a 3m USB cable. Then you can complain all you like to me.

Spent some time today cleaning up my desk

(Yup, I know. Should have done a before shot 🤦🏻‍♂️)

As I was wading through the crap I’d collected on my desk it got me thinking about why I’d put it all there in the first place. It was from the perceptions I’d built up about needing super-fast access to whatever the thing was.

A handful of USB dongles. A bunch of pens. A pack of cards. Eight different journals of various sizes to write in. A pencil case full of coloured dice. Two fake plants I’d bought myself. And lots more.

With everything I picked up I asked the question:

“What is this doing for me right now?”

Turns out that most of it was doing a whole lot of diddly fuck all…
Most of the things I’d barely looked at in the past two months, let alone used.

Ironically, this also matches what we all tend to do with our digital stuff as well.

  • How many social accounts have you abandoned?
  • What about the bullshit eating space on your cloud drive?
  • Your phone is probably full of…

--

--

Tim King

Email Marketing Strategist, and Futurist creating conversations about Email, Technology, Productivity, and the Future — theinboxartist.com